This platform is no longer active.
Profile retained as a historical reference. The information on this page does not represent an active investment opportunity. Explore active platforms

Business Loan Network
Formerly FCA-authorised UK P2P lender (FRN 724062) facilitating asset-secured loans to SMEs.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- £100
- Minimum investment
- Not disclosed (in liquidation)
- AUM / raised
- 2010
- Founded
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
Business Loan Network in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Private Debt
- Investment type
- Debt
- Not FCA regulated · Directly Authorised
- £100
- Not disclosed (in liquidation)
- Founded
- 2010
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Closed
- Last reviewed
- April 2026
- Website
- businessloannetwork.co.uk
What was Business Loan Network?
Business Loan Network Limited (BLN) was a UK peer-to-peer lending platform that operated as a directly authorised P2P firm (FCA FRN 724062), primarily facilitating crowdfunded, asset-secured loans to small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). The company was incorporated on 10 May 2010.
BLN stopped accepting new business on 9 December 2019 and entered a managed run-off to recover and distribute outstanding loans. Joint Administrators were appointed on 15 April 2021; the company transitioned to liquidation on 25 April 2023, with the same individuals appointed Joint Liquidators. The platform no longer accepts new investments and current activity is limited to wind-down and loan recovery under the Joint Liquidators' oversight.
Why this matters: the firm's insolvency status means it cannot originate new loans or provide normal platform services, and existing investors must rely on the liquidation process for recovery of outstanding capital and interest.
How did Business Loan Network work?
Historically, BLN operated an online marketplace matching lenders (retail and institutional) with SME borrowers. Loans were typically secured against business assets, often property, and the platform facilitated loan documentation, payment flows (collections and distributions), and record-keeping.
After the firm entered administration and later liquidation, these operational functions were taken over by the Administrators/Liquidators to manage the run-off and creditor distributions via the site portal and communications channels.
Why this matters: investors relying on historical platform processes should not assume those services continue in the same form — ongoing servicing is now controlled by insolvency practitioners with priority on recovery rather than new lending or secondary market liquidity.
What did Business Loan Network offer?
Prior to closing to new business, BLN offered secured business loans crowdfunded by investors through its P2P platform. As of the firm's wind-down and liquidation, it ceased offering new investment products and closed the secondary market facility. The company's Terms and Conditions (January 2021) explicitly state it was no longer accepting new lending and that capital is at risk.
Why this matters: there is no opportunity to open new positions on the platform, and previously marketed features (e.g., secondary market) are no longer available, reducing investor options for exiting positions.
Who was Business Loan Network for?
Historically: individual and institutional investors prepared to accept the risk of capital loss by lending to SMEs secured against assets. Such P2P investments were not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS).
Currently: the platform is relevant only to existing lenders/creditors awaiting recovery and distribution under the liquidation process.
Why this matters: FSCS does not protect P2P business loan investments, so lenders must rely on collateral recovery and the insolvency process to recoup funds — outcomes can be partial and slow.
Regulatory details & consumer protections
FCA status: BLN was a directly authorised P2P firm (FCA FRN 724062) while operating. It is not an appointed representative; the firm itself held authorisation when active. Direct authorisation means regulatory responsibility rested with the firm rather than with a principal firm.
FSCS: P2P business loan investments are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. Lenders cannot rely on FSCS cover; recoveries depend on collateral realisation and insolvency distributions. Absence of FSCS means greater investor risk compared with FSCS-covered products.
Contact & next steps for lenders/creditors
If you are a lender or creditor, contact the Joint Liquidators or the BLN Case Team for case-specific queries: support@businessloannetwork.co.uk and BLN Case Team, c/o Kroll, 32 London Bridge Street, London, SE1 9SG.
Check the company website for official liquidators' notices and the Portal for updates; rely on formal communications from the Liquidators rather than unverified third-party sites. Direct contact with the Liquidators is the appropriate channel for submitting claims and obtaining the latest progress reports.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Strengths (historical and contextual):
- Direct FCA authorisation while operating (FRN 724062) provided regulatory oversight during trading.
- Focus on secured loans could provide recovery value from collateral in default scenarios.
Key risks and present issues:
- Insolvency: BLN is in liquidation; it cannot accept new business and investor recoveries are subject to the Liquidators' process, timescale and priority of creditor claims.
- No FSCS protection for P2P lending — capital at risk and claimants must rely on collateral and insolvency distributions.
- Secondary market closed: restricted liquidity for lenders wanting to exit positions.
- Limited public disclosure of historical fees, aggregate AUM or default rates, reducing transparency for assessing past performance.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Before you go further
Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.
- Primary red flag
BLN is in liquidation following administration, the most significant indicator that the platform is no longer a functioning lender or marketplace. Existing investors should expect a protracted recovery process and possible partial loss of capital.
- Other watch points
If you are a creditor, use the Liquidators' contact channels for case-specific queries.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- April 2026
- Sources
- FCA news story (BLN enters administration), FCA Register (FRN 724062), Companies House (07248014), businessloannetwork.co.uk, BLN Notice to Lenders (Aug 2024), BLN FAQ (Aug 2024), BLN Terms & Conditions (Jan 2021), Trustpilot
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Business Loan Network or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Business Loan Network vs other Private Debt platforms
| Business Loan Network | Crowd2Fund | Goji | Charm Impact | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | £100 | £250 | Set by third-party platforms | $50,000 |
| FCA status | Not FCA regulated | FCA authorised | Regulatory status unverified | Not FCA regulated |
| Structure | Debt | Debt, Equity | Debt, Equity | Debt |
| Secondary market | No | No | No | No |
| Founded | 2010 | 2014 | 2016 | 2018 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK (headquartered); global via partners | Africa & Southeast Asia |
Understanding private lending, direct loans, and debt investments. How non-bank lenders generate yield and how individual investors can access the asset class.