EdAid
EdAid Ltd (FRN 673376) is a directly FCA-authorised education finance technology firm administering interest-free instalment and income-based repayment plans between students, education providers and lenders.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- £100
- Minimum investment
- N/A (not disclosed)
- AUM / raised
- 2016
- Launched
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
EdAid in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Consumer Lending
- Investment type
- Debt
- FCA authorised · Peer-to-Peer (P2P)
- £100
- N/A (not disclosed)
- Founded
- 2016
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Active
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Website
- edaid.com
What is EdAid?
EdAid Ltd is a UK education finance technology company that administers deferred tuition and interest-free payment plans between student borrowers, lenders and education providers. The firm is registered in England & Wales (company no. 07880016) and is directly authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under FRN 673376, with FCA approval obtained in early 2016. Tom Woolf is identified as founder and CEO.
The EdAid Foundation is a UK-registered charity (no. 1163047) that supports the organisation's charitable activities; Charity Commission filings disclose its recent accounts. EdAid's website states it supports students in multiple countries, but geographic reach should be treated as a company statement rather than independently audited fact.
How does EdAid work?
EdAid partners with education providers to let students spread tuition into instalments, offering both fixed monthly repayment plans and income-based repayments that defer payments until a borrower reaches an earnings threshold. EdAid administers the loan/payment contracts and performs identity, fraud, AML and affordability checks before enrolment.
- Legal role: EdAid acts as platform and administrator rather than the contracting lender in many arrangements — it facilitates contracts between student borrowers and lenders or between students and providers. Lenders and students should review the executed loan contract to confirm the counterparty.
- Capital at risk: Where individuals provide capital (including through affiliated impact-funding vehicles), loans are typically unsecured and capital is explicitly at risk. These arrangements are not FSCS-protected and may fall outside FOS jurisdiction for certain dispute types.
- Fees: EdAid states platform fees are paid by education providers (success/technology fees) rather than by students; students usually pay a deposit (if required) plus scheduled interest-free instalments. Exact commercial terms vary by partnership and should be confirmed with the provider.
What does EdAid offer?
Core offerings described by EdAid and public records:
- Interest-free instalment plans — students split tuition into interest-free monthly instalments over a fixed term. Useful for students; for any funders the loans are typically unsecured and carry default risk.
- Income-based repayment plans — repayments are deferred until the borrower earns above a threshold, then taken as a fixed percentage of income. Aligns payments with ability to pay but can extend the repayment horizon and lengthen cashflow for funders.
- Degree apprenticeship and provider partnerships — payment plans embedded into enrolment at partner universities and vocational providers. Institutional partnerships can lift uptake but do not remove borrower-credit risk.
Unverified product claims: several names from earlier marketing material — including "EdAid PLUS (US Market)", "Citizenship Payment Plan" and claims of 100% donor pass-through — could not be substantiated in the source material and are flagged as unverified pending primary documentation.
Red flags and watch points
- No public FCA enforcement actions or warnings against EdAid Ltd were identified in the supplied materials — but ongoing checks against the FCA Register and Warning List are recommended.
- The EdAid Foundation reported a net deficit of £19,949 for the year to 31 December 2024 per Charity Commission filings, and the accounts note an unpaid unsecured loan from EdAid Ltd to the Foundation. Small deficits are not unusual in charities but warrant review before any long-term funding commitment.
- Third-party data integrations: EdAid has been listed among apps using Plaid in wider US litigation disclosures. The listing does not make EdAid a party to that litigation per the supplied materials, but it is a data-protection consideration.
- Limited public reviews: the Trustpilot profile for edaid.com appears unclaimed / with no reviews at time of research, which makes consumer-experience trends hard to assess.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Direct FCA authorisation (FRN 673376) provides formal regulatory oversight and ongoing compliance obligations. The model reduces upfront tuition cost for students and embeds payment options inside education provider enrolment flows, which can aid access.
Arrangements are not FSCS-protected and capital is at risk for any lenders or impact investors. Publicly available, independently audited performance data is limited — company-stated default figures lack independent verification. No secondary market or liquidity mechanism for individual lenders has been identified, so funders may lack exit options before borrower repayments mature.
A number of specific product names, US-market claims and Foundation pass-through assertions from earlier profiles remain unverified in the supplied sources; prospective contributors should request primary documentation and terms before committing capital.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Before you go further
Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.
- FCA status: EdAid Ltd is directly authorised by the FCA (FRN 673376). Direct authorisation gives a formal regulatory relationship and complaints route via the firm, but is not equivalent to bank-style supervision.
- FSCS / FOS: Lending and impact-funding arrangements are typically not FSCS-protected and may not be covered by FOS for all dispute types. Investors should not expect deposit-style protection.
- Default and recovery: EdAid (and related summaries) report a student default rate below 4%, but this is a company-stated metric and has not been independently audited in the materials supplied. Independent performance data is needed for investment decisions.
- Winding-down risk: EdAid acknowledges winding-down risk and states arrangements exist for continued administration of active contracts if it ceased trading; such arrangements can still disrupt repayment timing and processes.
- Enforcement checks: No FCA enforcement notices or warnings specific to EdAid Ltd or the EdAid Foundation were identified in the supplied search material. Absence of evidence is not proof of absence — check the FCA Register and public notices for updates.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Sources
- FCA Register (FRN 673376); Companies House (07880016); Charity Commission (EdAid Foundation, 1163047); edaid.com legal/terms/lender risk statement; Trustpilot uk.trustpilot.com/review/edaid.com.
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of EdAid or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Visit the platform to review current opportunities and terms.
You will leave Other. Read the offer document and check the FCA register entry before investing.
EdAid vs other Consumer Lending platforms
| EdAid | JustUs | Elfin Market | Lendwise | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | £100 | £100 | £100 | £1,000 (account); £10 per loan part |
| FCA status | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised |
| Structure | Debt | Debt | Debt | Debt |
| Secondary market | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Founded | 2016 | 2013 | 2016 | 2018 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK | UK |