London Cask Traders logo
    Active· Formerly FCA authorised

    London Cask Traders

    London Cask Traders Ltd (LCT) is a UK broker arranging direct ownership of Scotch and Irish whisky casks held in HMRC-bonded warehouses.

    Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.

    From £3,000 (unverified)
    Minimum investment
    Not disclosed
    AUM / raised
    2023
    Launched
    UK
    Geography
    Yes
    Secondary market
    Physical Asset
    Investment type
    At a glance

    London Cask Traders in ten seconds

    Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.

    Asset classes
    Luxury Assets
    Investment type
    Physical Asset
    Formerly FCA authorised · Former Appointed Representative of Prospect Capital Ltd (principal FRN 515599); FRN 978372 · FCA Register
    Operator
    London Cask Traders Ltd · Co. no. 13600373
    Company status
    Active
    From £3,000 (unverified)
    Not disclosed
    Founded
    2023
    Geography
    UK
    Yes
    Operating status
    Active
    Last reviewed
    June 2026
    What it is

    What is London Cask Traders?

    London Cask Traders Ltd (LCT) is a UK broker and adviser that markets direct whisky cask ownership to private clients across Scotch and Irish distilleries. The firm provides sourcing, custody arrangements in HMRC-bonded warehouses, and assisted exits via independent bottlers, auctions and private buyers. Mark Biss is named as founder/CEO, with a managing director hired in 2023-2024.

    Regulatory status: Whisky cask activities are not regulated by the FCA — casks sit outside the regulated investment perimeter, so LCT does not hold an FRN for these services. LCT does hold HMRC-related registrations (Company number, VAT, WOWGR, Excise ID and AWRS) covering alcohol storage, excise handling and bonded warehousing — these are operational licences, not investor protections.

    So what? Clients do not benefit from FSCS compensation or FOS dispute rights for investment outcomes. HMRC licences evidence lawful alcohol handling, not the suitability or performance of the underlying investment.

    How it works

    How does London Cask Traders work?

    Sourcing and purchase: LCT sources casks from distilleries and markets them to clients. Purchasers receive an invoice and certificate of ownership, and LCT states it notifies HMRC/Revenue where required.

    Custody and storage: Casks are held in HMRC-bonded warehouses and stated to be fully insured. LCT provides free storage and insurance for the first five years, then charges £60 per cask per year (per Terms & Conditions, subject to change).

    Ownership and tax treatment: LCT issues ownership documentation, but investors should verify whether a Delivery Order (DO) is held in their name at the bonded warehouse to evidence legal title. Casks held in bond typically defer VAT and excise duty until removal; HMRC's "wasting assets" CGT treatment should be confirmed with a tax adviser.

    Exit and fees: LCT assists exits via private sales, independent bottlers or auctions. T&Cs specify a 10% fee on profits where LCT facilitates a sale, plus a 10% deduction from market price if LCT buys a cask back.

    So what? Custody documentation (DO vs certificate), VAT/excise timing and post-year-five storage fees materially affect liquidity, ownership clarity and net returns.

    What you can invest in

    What does London Cask Traders offer?

    Products: Direct ownership of new-make and aged casks across Scotch and Irish distilleries. Reported entry minimums start around £3,000 (unverified on the primary site).

    Fees: 10% sales fee on profits where LCT arranges the sale; 10% buy-back deduction on market price; free storage/insurance for the first five years then £60 per cask/year. Prices advertised in GBP, with VAT and excise duty excluded where applicable. Payment terms require settlement within seven days of invoice.

    Performance claims: The website uses promotional language referencing "portfolio diversification" and "returns" with examples of historical cask appreciation. These are descriptive of historical events and not guarantees of future performance. Holding period guidance per T&Cs is 5-8 years.

    So what? Fees (10% sale, post-year-five storage) and VAT/excise timing are direct determinants of net returns. Historical examples are not proof of future performance — investors should model fees, taxes and realistic exit scenarios before committing capital.

    Strengths & risks

    What stands out, and what to weigh against it

    Potential strengths

    Access to a tangible alternative asset class outside public markets, offering potential diversification for investors who understand the illiquidity profile.

    Stated HMRC/WOWGR compliance and bonded-warehouse arrangements reduce regulatory/legal handling risk for the physical product.

    Key risks

    No FCA regulation — no FSCS protection or FOS dispute rights for investment outcomes.

    Illiquidity and exit risk — secondary market demand varies; younger casks and new-make spirit often require much longer holds.

    Fees and tax timing — 10% sales fee plus post-year-five storage can materially reduce net returns; VAT/excise can add cash costs at removal from bond.

    Promotional language — references to "solid returns" and large historical gains risk being classified as financial promotion if not properly qualified or targeted.

    So what? The combination of illiquidity, fees, tax timing and limited regulatory oversight means capital may be harder to retrieve and returns more uncertain than headline performance examples suggest.

    This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.

    Things to check

    Before you go further

    Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.

    FCA perimeter

    Confirm that the service being offered is indeed outside FCA regulation — the absence of FCA oversight removes FSCS and FOS protections.

    Documentation of ownership

    Ensure you receive or can verify a Delivery Order (DO) at the bonded warehouse showing title in your name, not just an internal certificate.

    Fee timing and exit mechanics

    Verify when the 10% fees apply and how buy-backs are priced. Ask for worked examples showing net proceeds after fees, storage and taxes.

    Complaints and legal actions

    Online complaints allege disputes with London Cask Traders Ltd (including a reported statutory demand/winding-up threat in one account). These remain unverified and should be investigated via Companies House filings and court records.

    ASA rulings (separate entity)

    An August 2023 ASA ruling upheld complaints against London Cask Co Ltd — a different legal entity — for misleading return claims. It does not automatically apply to LCT, but is relevant sector context and underlines the need to scrutinise any historic-return claims.

    About this profile

    Sources and methodology

    Last reviewed
    June 2026
    Sources
    londoncasktraders.com (homepage, Whisky Investment, Terms & Conditions, News, Press), Companies House (London Cask Traders Ltd), FCA Register (no FRN held for cask activities), HMRC WOWGR/AWRS registers, ASA ruling against London Cask Co Ltd (G22-1179655, August 2023, separate legal entity), Trustpilot, Forbes (Schrieberg, 6 Nov 2025), DLA Piper Scotch whisky regulatory guide (2025), Mark Littler cask investment guides.

    Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of London Cask Traders or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.

    Interested in London Cask Traders?

    Visit the platform to review current opportunities and terms.

    You will leave Other. Read the offer document and check the FCA register entry before investing.

    Visit London Cask Traders
    Compare

    London Cask Traders vs other Luxury Assets platforms

    All Luxury Assets platforms
    London Cask TradersJura CapitalMasterworksLondonTradeArt
    MinimumFrom £3,000 (unverified)From $25,000 (Prof./HNW/Soph. only)~$15,000 (shares ~$20)£1,000
    FCA statusFormerly FCA authorisedNot FCA regulatedNot FCA regulatedNot FCA regulated
    StructurePhysical AssetEquityEquityEquity
    Secondary marketYesNoYesNo
    Founded2023—20172017
    GeographyUKUK, InternationalGlobal (US-domiciled)UK
    Related platforms
    FAQ
    What is the minimum investment on London Cask Traders?
    London Cask Traders's minimum investment is From £3,000 (unverified).
    Is London Cask Traders regulated by the FCA?
    Not any more. Former Appointed Representative of Prospect Capital Ltd (principal FRN 515599); FRN 978372.
    Does London Cask Traders offer a secondary market?
    Yes, London Cask Traders offers a secondary market for existing investors to sell holdings before maturity.
    London Cask TradersMin From £3,000 (unverified) · Formerly FCA authorised
    Visit