This platform is no longer active — ceased trading since 2022.
Profile retained as a historical reference. The information on this page does not represent an active investment opportunity. Explore active platforms
Octopus Choice
Retail peer-to-peer property lending product from Octopus Investments, launched 2016.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- N/A
- Minimum investment
- Not disclosed
- AUM / raised
- 2016
- Founded
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
Octopus Choice in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Real Estate
- Investment type
- Debt
- Formerly FCA authorised · Formerly FCA-authorised (FRN 722801, until 4 Jul 2023) · FCA Register
- Operator
- Octopus Co-Lend Limited · Co. no. 08913299
- Company status
- Active
- N/A
- Not disclosed
- Founded
- 2016
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Closed · Ceased trading · 2022
- Last reviewed
- September 2026
- Website
- octopuschoice.com
What was Octopus Choice?
Octopus Co-Lend Limited was a UK company established in 2014 and operated the property-backed peer-to-peer lending platform branded Octopus Choice. The firm was directly authorised by the FCA under FRN 722801, not an Appointed Representative, until its authorisation ended on 4 July 2023.
The Octopus Choice platform suspended transactions in March 2020 amid heavy withdrawal requests and broader market stress, and ceased offering new P2P products in February 2021. The remaining loan book has been managed by Octopus's real estate teams with the stated objective of returning capital to existing investors. No new investments are accepted.
How did Octopus Choice work?
Historically, Octopus Choice allowed retail investors to fund property-backed loans originated within the Octopus Group. Loans were secured by a first charge on property, with average LTV around the low 60s and a maximum LTV reported at 76%. Octopus stated it invested 5% of its own capital into each loan in a first-loss position, absorbing the first 5% of losses — an extra layer of protection (not a guarantee) for investors. Minimum investments were historically £10.
What did Octopus Choice offer?
Octopus Choice offered investments in property-backed loans and supported the Innovative Finance ISA (IFISA) wrapper. The platform historically targeted c.4% p.a.; after the platform fee was waived in March 2020, Octopus reported average loan returns of over 5% and stated the platform had generated nearly £15m of interest for investors by October 2019, with claimed lending of >£250M. These are historical performance figures, not guarantees. No secondary market was offered, making investments illiquid until loans repaid.
Who was Octopus Choice for?
Octopus Choice was marketed at retail investors seeking a fixed-income style return from property-backed lending and at financial advisers placing clients into IFISA-eligible products. The platform is now closed to new investors. P2P investments are not FSCS-protected — capital was at risk and could be lost if underlying loans defaulted or property values fell.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Direct FCA authorisation (FRN 722801) while active.
Conservative underwriting metrics (average LTV c.63%, Octopus 5% first-loss).
Octopus stated no investor capital losses had been incurred as at October 2019 and during the 2020–21 wind-down period.
Liquidity / suspension history. Transactions were suspended in March 2020 and the platform ceased new P2P in February 2021 — investors experienced extended periods where withdrawals were halted.
No FSCS protection for capital invested in P2P loans.
Residual wind-down risk. Final outcomes depend on borrower performance and property market moves, not guarantees.
Information availability. Trustpilot page returned 404 and the platform website has been reported offline — limited current transparency.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- September 2026
- Sources
- FCA Register (FRN 722801, Octopus Co-Lend Limited), octopusgroup.com/newsroom/octopus-choice-stops-all-transactions, alternativecreditinvestor.com (Octopus Choice permanent closure, Feb 2021), Trustpilot (404)
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Octopus Choice or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Octopus Choice vs other Real Estate platforms
| Octopus Choice | Aprirose | Jura Capital | CapitalRise | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | N/A | By arrangement (Prof. only) | From $25,000 (Prof./HNW/Soph. only) | £1,000 |
| FCA status | Formerly FCA authorised | FCA authorised | Not FCA regulated | FCA authorised |
| Structure | Debt | Equity | Equity | Debt |
| Secondary market | No | No | No | Yes |
| Founded | 2016 | — | — | 2016 |
| Geography | UK | UK, Europe | UK, International | London & Home Counties (UK) |
Understanding private real estate investment, from property types and fund structures to performance metrics and access routes for individual investors.
- What is the minimum investment on Octopus Choice?
- Octopus Choice's minimum investment is N/A.
- Is Octopus Choice regulated by the FCA?
- Not any more. Formerly FCA-authorised (FRN 722801, until 4 Jul 2023).
- Does Octopus Choice offer a secondary market?
- No, Octopus Choice does not currently offer a secondary market.