This platform is no longer active — in administration.
Profile retained as a historical reference. The information on this page does not represent an active investment opportunity. Explore active platforms
Ablrate
UK peer-to-peer lending platform (Aviation and Tech Capital Ltd) specialising in asset-backed loans, particularly aircraft leasing and SME secured lending.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- N/A
- Minimum investment
- Not disclosed
- AUM / raised
- 2014
- Founded
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
Ablrate in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Private Debt
- Investment type
- Debt
- FCA authorised · Directly authorised (FRN 724444); firm in administration · FCA Register
- Company status
- In administration
- N/A
- Not disclosed
- Founded
- 2014
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Closed · In administration
- Last reviewed
- April 2026
- Website
- ablrate.com
What was Ablrate?
Aviation and Tech Capital Ltd traded as Ablrate and was incorporated in February 2012. It operated a regulated peer-to-peer (P2P) lending platform that facilitated crowdfunded loans to small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).
The company entered administration on 15 January 2024; joint administrators Sean Bucknall, Brian Burke and Andrew Hosking of Quantuma Advisory Limited were appointed to manage the firm's affairs in the interests of creditors. The platform is no longer operating as a going concern and is not an active FCA-authorised platform for new business. Investors should treat the platform as closed to new investors and expect repayments only via the administration process.
How did Ablrate work?
Before administration, Ablrate aggregated capital from retail investors and used it to provide loans to SMEs — a standard P2P lending model. Administrators are now maintaining the platform in order to manage existing loan collections and to distribute recoveries to creditors according to the administration process.
Existing loan recoveries are handled by administrators and are subject to creditor ranking and the deduction of administration costs, so investors should not expect immediate or full recovery.
What did Ablrate offer?
Prior to administration, Ablrate only offered crowdfunded P2P loans to SMEs; there is no evidence in public records that the business offered dedicated aviation- or technology-backed funds despite the corporate name.
Public records do not disclose fee schedules, minimum investment levels, historical returns, default rates, Innovative Finance ISA (IFISA) offerings, SIPP wrappers, or a secondary market for loans. The lack of available historical performance and fee data means investors cannot assess past risk-adjusted returns or cost competitiveness for this platform.
Who was Ablrate for?
Before entering administration, the platform was targeted at retail investors willing to accept the illiquidity and credit risk inherent in P2P SME lending.
It is no longer open to new investors. Existing investors should engage directly with the appointed administrators (Quantuma) for updates on recoveries.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Ablrate was directly authorised by the FCA prior to administration, which meant it had to meet FCA conduct rules during its operating life.
The company entered administration on 15 January 2024 because the directors concluded it was insolvent and could not pay its debts; administrators now control the firm's affairs and will pay creditors in accordance with insolvency law. A Freedom of Information decision notice indicates the FCA stated the firm had lost "millions of pounds worth of investors' money", suggesting investor losses have occurred. Company accounts showed net assets of £444.4k and cash of £56.6k as of August 2022, indicating modest scale before administration.
Prior FCA authorisation is not protection against company failure; administration and reported investor losses mean recovery is uncertain and likely to be partial.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Before you go further
Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.
- 1) Administration
The firm entered administration on 15 January 2024 and is no longer an active, directly authorised FCA-regulated platform — the single biggest indicator that investor access and platform operations have ceased.
- 2) Reported investor losses
The FCA has indicated significant investor losses; recoveries depend on the administration process and creditor ranking.
- 3) Limited disclosure
Fees, minimum investments, historical default rates and IFISA/SIPP eligibility are not available in the public record.
- 4) FSCS coverage
P2P investments are generally not protected by the FSCS for losses arising from borrower default or platform failure; this point is unverified for Ablrate specifically and investors should consult the administrators or FCA for a definitive position.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- April 2026
- Sources
- Companies House (Aviation and Tech Capital Ltd), Quantuma Advisory administrator notices (15 January 2024), FCA Register, FCA Freedom of Information decision notice, P2P industry press
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Ablrate or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Ablrate vs other Private Debt platforms
| Ablrate | Crowd2Fund | Crowd for Angels | Charm Impact | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | N/A | £250 | £100 | $50,000 |
| FCA status | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | Not FCA regulated |
| Structure | Debt | Debt, Equity | Debt, Equity | Debt |
| Secondary market | No | No | No | No |
| Founded | 2014 | 2014 | 2014 | 2018 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK | Africa & Southeast Asia |
Understanding private lending, direct loans, and debt investments. How non-bank lenders generate yield and how individual investors can access the asset class.
- What is the minimum investment on Ablrate?
- Ablrate's minimum investment is N/A.
- Is Ablrate regulated by the FCA?
- Yes. The FCA Register lists it as: Directly authorised (FRN 724444); firm in administration. The company itself is in administration, so check the insolvency practitioner's updates before acting.
- Does Ablrate offer a secondary market?
- No, Ablrate does not currently offer a secondary market.