Equity Spark
Equity Spark Limited (FRN 665367) is a directly FCA-authorised equity crowdfunding platform focused on UK university spin-outs, science park ventures and early-stage startups.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- £500
- Minimum investment
- Not disclosed
- AUM / raised
- 2024
- Launched
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Equity
- Investment type
Equity Spark in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Venture Capital
- Investment type
- Equity
- FCA authorised · Equity Crowdfunding
- £500
- Not disclosed
- Founded
- 2024
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Active
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Website
- equityspark.com
What is Equity Spark?
Equity Spark Limited (FRN 665367) is a UK equity crowdfunding platform that is directly authorised and regulated by the FCA. The firm focuses on connecting investors with early-stage companies, including university spin-outs and science park ventures. Company number 08673809 is shown in the firm's terms of use; a specific public launch date is not independently verifiable [unverified].
The platform lists partnerships with organisations such as Oxford University Innovation Ltd, The Big Exchange and The London Business School on its own website [unverified by third party].
How does Equity Spark work?
Investors create an account and self-certify their investor category — Restricted, Sophisticated or High Net Worth — and, where required, complete appropriateness checks before accessing opportunities. Equity Spark sources opportunities from partner networks and applies an internal screening, due diligence and investment-committee review process before listing companies.
The platform states it does not provide investment, legal, tax or financial advice; campaign information is presented for investors to assess themselves.
What does Equity Spark offer?
Direct equity stakes in private early-stage companies (university spin-outs, science park companies, startups). Some campaigns may indicate eligibility for EIS or SEIS tax relief; investors should confirm status per offer and seek independent tax advice.
Typical minimum investment starts around £500, though campaign minimums vary (reportedly from about £10 up to £10,000). Fees include a 5% investor commission on successful investments and a 5% success fee charged to fundraisers, with payment processing of approximately 1% charged to the fundraiser where applicable.
A secondary market has been referenced by the firm, but timing and operational details are not independently verified [unverified].
Who is Equity Spark for?
Aimed at investors willing and able to accept the high risks of early-stage equity, including total capital loss, long holding periods and dilution. The platform segments investors into Restricted, Sophisticated and High Net Worth categories with the protections and limits associated with each category.
Investors who need capital protection, short-term liquidity or guarantees are not the target market.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Direct FCA authorisation (FRN 665367) means the firm is subject to FCA rules on governance, disclosures and client categorisation, rather than operating as an appointed representative. The niche focus on universities and business schools can create a differentiated pipeline of innovation-linked opportunities. Risk disclosures on capital loss, illiquidity and dilution are prominent on the platform.
Early-stage equity is high risk — investors can lose all capital. The primary investments are in private companies and should be treated as illiquid; the planned secondary market is unverified and investors should not rely on it. The platform appears to have a limited public track record and no independently audited historical performance data [unverified]. FSCS does not protect investors against poor investment performance.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Before you go further
Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.
No specific FCA enforcement actions or firm-targeted warnings relating to Equity Spark Limited (FRN 665367) were identified at the date of this review. The FCA has issued general sectoral warnings about consumers making inappropriate high-risk investments via crowdfunding platforms — this is a sectoral observation, not a firm-specific sanction [unverified].
- Watch points
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Sources
- FCA Register (FRN 665367), Companies House (08673809), equityspark.com (risk warning, invest, FAQ, terms of use, our partners), Trustpilot (no usable review record), FCA consumer guidance and warning list
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Equity Spark or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Visit the platform to review current opportunities and terms.
You will leave Other. Read the offer document and check the FCA register entry before investing.
Equity Spark vs other Venture Capital platforms
| Equity Spark | Barclays Demo Directory | FundMyPitch | ThatRound | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | £500 | N/A (deal-flow network) | N/A (deal-flow network) | N/A (deal-flow network) |
| FCA status | FCA authorised | Not FCA regulated | Not FCA regulated | Not FCA regulated |
| Structure | Equity | Equity | Debt, Equity | Equity |
| Secondary market | No | No | No | No |
| Founded | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2024 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK | UK |