This platform is no longer active — ceased trading.
Profile retained as a historical reference. The information on this page does not represent an active investment opportunity. Explore active platforms
Lending Crowd
UK peer-to-peer SME lending platform (Edinburgh Alternative Finance Ltd trading as Lending Crowd).
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- N/A
- Minimum investment
- Not disclosed
- AUM / raised
- 2014
- Founded
- UK
- Geography
- No
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
Lending Crowd in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Private Debt
- Investment type
- Debt
- FCA authorised · Directly authorised (FRN 670991) · FCA Register
- N/A
- Not disclosed
- Founded
- 2014
- Geography
- UK
- No
- Operating status
- Closed · Ceased trading
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Website
- lendingcrowd.com
What was Lending Crowd?
Edinburgh Alternative Finance Limited traded as LendingCrowd. Founded in 2014 by Stuart Lunn and based in Edinburgh, the firm operated a UK peer-to-peer (P2P) business lending platform targeting SMEs across Britain. It was directly authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) under FRN 670991, with full authorisation granted in November 2016 — confirming direct authorisation rather than Appointed Representative status.
By mid-2026 the platform was reported to have facilitated over £600 million in loans and to have been accredited by the British Business Bank to participate in CBILS (July 2020) and RLS (February 2022). Multiple sources report the company announced an exit from the P2P market, applied to cancel its FCA authorisation, and entered administration on 18 June 2026; details regarding affected investors and recoverable loan value remain unverified pending administrator and Companies House notices.
How did Lending Crowd work?
LendingCrowd matched individual investors with SMEs seeking business loans. Per firm materials, typical borrower applications were for loans between £75,000 and £500,000, with terms from six months to five years and monthly capital and interest repayments. Loans were assessed by an internal credit team and allocated a Credit Band (A+ to C+) before being listed on the platform's Loan Market for investor bidding.
Historic process features included competitive investor bidding, no early repayment penalties for borrowers, and an internal credit underwriting workflow. In March 2020 LendingCrowd temporarily suspended new lending and parts of the Loan Market in response to COVID-19. The Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) later considered a complaint about the suspension and a 1% withdrawal fee but did not uphold it, finding the firm's actions consistent with its interpretation of FCA requirements at the time.
So what? Loan size, term and repayment frequency drive exposure to individual borrower default risk and capital-return cadence. Suspension powers demonstrate that platforms can restrict new investment or secondary activity during stress — directly relevant to liquidity risk.
What did Lending Crowd offer?
Core product: business loans (private debt) to SMEs — not retail consumer lending or property development finance — packaged as P2P/loan-based crowdfunding investments. Reported borrower loan amounts: £75,000–£500,000 over 6 months–5 years.
Fees: public material indicates borrower fees from approximately 2% (varying by term and credit band), with fees potentially added to the loan principal. An investor-facing 1% withdrawal fee was applied during restricted operations and was the subject of a (not upheld) FOS complaint. Precise investor-facing fee schedules should be checked against archived fee tables or administrator disclosures.
Tax wrappers and secondary market: the available research did not provide definitive evidence that LendingCrowd offered an IFISA wrapper or operated a continuous secondary market for sellers — both are unverified and require confirmation from historical product documentation.
So what? Withdrawal fees impede access to capital in stressed markets. Tax wrappers like the IFISA materially affect post-tax returns, and secondary-market availability dictates liquidity.
Who was Lending Crowd for?
Target borrowers: limited companies and LLPs seeking business credit lines and term loans for growth, stock and working capital — excluding property development/investment lending.
Target investors: retail and individual investors seeking alternatives to bank deposits or gilts via SME private debt exposure. LendingCrowd's P2P products carried capital-at-risk and were not covered by the FSCS — a risk disclosure reflected in platform documentation and FOS material.
So what? SME loans typically carry higher default risk than secured consumer lending or government bonds. The absence of FSCS protection makes credit assessment and diversification critical.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Direct FCA authorisation (FRN 670991) and operation under formal conduct and disclosure rules while active. CBILS and RLS accreditation demonstrated capability to underwrite government-backed lending during the pandemic. Reported scale of over £600m facilitated historically indicates operational track record (scale ≠ net investor returns or recovery rates).
Capital was at risk and investments were not FSCS-protected. Historic COVID-era suspensions of lending and Loan Market activity show that liquidity can be restricted in stressed markets. The reported June 2026 administration and prior application to cancel FCA authorisation materially affect investor protections and ongoing platform capacity; affected-investor counts and recovery values remain unverified. Public audited default and recovery statistics were limited in the supplied materials, hampering loss-given-default modelling.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Before you go further
Points we would verify against the platform's current documents rather than take from this page.
- Reported administration (18 June 2026)
sources state Edinburgh Alternative Finance Limited entered administration. Verify via joint administrators' notices, Companies House filings and the FCA Register before treating as final. If confirmed, administration affects how outstanding loans are managed and investor capital is returned.
- P2P exit and FCA cancellation
the firm reportedly announced plans to close the P2P element in 2024 and applied to cancel FCA authorisation — consistent with the administration but requires regulator-filing confirmation.
- Withdrawal-fee/suspension episode
the FOS considered (and did not uphold) a complaint about a 1% withdrawal fee during suspended trading — the episode evidences potential investor dissatisfaction and constrained liquidity in stress events.
- Limited public default/recovery transparency
absence of detailed loan-book performance tables and unclear status of any secondary market or IFISA packaging restrict investors' ability to model probable outcomes and tax treatment.
- So what?
Unresolved questions materially affect whether investors can expect to recover capital, the recovery timeline, and tax position. Existing creditors and lenders should seek administrator statements and regulator updates for definitive guidance.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- June 2026
- Sources
- FCA Register (FRN 670991); Companies House; lendingcrowd.com (general FAQs, wind-down plan, fees table, complaints, business loans); Financial Ombudsman Service decision DRN-3723322; British Business Bank CBILS/RLS accreditation lists; Cambridge Centre for Alternative Finance 5th UK Alternative Finance Industry Report; uk.trustpilot.com/review/edinburghalternativefinance.com.
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Lending Crowd or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Lending Crowd vs other Private Debt platforms
| Lending Crowd | Crowd2Fund | Crowd for Angels | Charm Impact | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | N/A | £250 | £100 | $50,000 |
| FCA status | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | Not FCA regulated |
| Structure | Debt | Debt, Equity | Debt, Equity | Debt |
| Secondary market | No | No | No | No |
| Founded | 2014 | 2014 | 2014 | 2018 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK | Africa & Southeast Asia |
Understanding private lending, direct loans, and debt investments. How non-bank lenders generate yield and how individual investors can access the asset class.
- What is the minimum investment on Lending Crowd?
- Lending Crowd's minimum investment is N/A.
- Is Lending Crowd regulated by the FCA?
- Yes. The FCA Register lists it as: Directly authorised (FRN 670991).
- Does Lending Crowd offer a secondary market?
- No, Lending Crowd does not currently offer a secondary market.