Unbolted
UK peer-to-peer lending platform run by Open Access Finance Limited (FRN 741896), where investors fund short-term loans secured on borrowers' pawned or other assets.
Other. does not receive payment when you visit a platform. Inclusion is not endorsement.
- Not disclosed
- Minimum investment
- £60m+ lent (Sep 2026)
- AUM / raised
- 2015
- Launched
- UK
- Geography
- Yes
- Secondary market
- Debt
- Investment type
Unbolted in ten seconds
Structured fields recorded the same way for every platform in the directory, so they can be compared like for like.
- Asset classes
- Private Debt, Consumer Lending
- Investment type
- Debt
- FCA authorised · Directly authorised (FRN 741896) · FCA Register
- Operator
- Open Access Finance Limited · Co. no. 08778211
- Company status
- Active
- Not disclosed
- £60m+ lent (Sep 2026)
- Founded
- 2015
- Geography
- UK
- Yes
- Operating status
- Active
- Last reviewed
- September 2026
- Website
- unbolted.com/uk
What is Unbolted?
Open Access Finance Limited (Companies House 08778211) trades as Unbolted and has been directly authorised by the FCA since 8 June 2017 (FRN 741896) to operate an electronic lending system. Its live site is unbolted.com/uk; the old openaccessfinance.com domain is offline, and several similarly named domains belong to unrelated operators (see risks).
Unbolted says it has completed over £60 million in loans. In September 2026 its investing page was live, advertising rates of up to 10.2% a year and an Autolend option.
How does Unbolted work?
Unbolted is a peer-to-peer lending platform. Investors fund short-term loans to borrowers, secured on pawned or other assets, typically for under 12 months. Autolend spreads money across loans automatically, and lending can be held in an Innovative Finance ISA. Early exit depends on another investor buying the loan part; there is no guaranteed liquidity.
What does Unbolted offer?
Asset-secured, short-term loans with a headline rate of up to 10.2% a year, which is the platform's advertised rate rather than a guaranteed return. Individual loans pay 0.85% interest a month, distributed twice a year. An Innovative Finance ISA is available, and a third-party source puts the minimum at £1. Unbolted says it takes no fees from lenders until loan principal has been repaid; borrowers pay a setup fee that covers valuation.
Who is Unbolted for?
UK-resident investors who accept peer-to-peer lending risk and want short-term, asset-secured loans, including inside an Innovative Finance ISA. P2P loans are not covered by the FSCS.
What stands out, and what to weigh against it
Directly authorised by the FCA (FRN 741896), with client cash held in a segregated bank account and a published wind-down plan.
Loans are secured on borrowers' assets, and the platform reports over 9,900 loans repaid or renewed.
Name confusion. Unrelated operators use similar names: openaccessfinance.net (subject to FCNB and AMF (Québec) 2025 warnings as an unregulated forex/crypto operator), openaccessfinance.com and openaccessfinances.com. The genuine platform is at unbolted.com/uk; confirm the firm on the FCA Register (FRN 741896) before transferring money.
No FSCS cover. P2P loans are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme; if a borrower defaults, recovery depends on the security backing the loan.
Liquidity. There is no guaranteed early exit; selling a loan part depends on another investor buying it.
This is Other.'s editorial assessment based on the information reviewed. It is not a recommendation.
Sources and methodology
- Last reviewed
- September 2026
- Sources
- FCA Register (Open Access Finance Ltd, FRN 741896, trading as Unbolted); unbolted.com/uk; Companies House (08778211); FCNB & AMF (Québec) 2025 advisories against openaccessfinance.net (separate entity)
- Methodology
- How we research platforms →
Editorial research, not financial advice. See the full disclaimer in the site footer. Are you the owner of Unbolted or representing the company? To submit an addition, clarification or correction, get in touch or use our contact form.
Visit the platform to review current opportunities and terms.
You will leave Other. Read the offer document and check the FCA register entry before investing.
Unbolted vs other Private Debt platforms
| Unbolted | JustUs | Crowd2Fund | Crowd for Angels | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | Not disclosed | £100 | £250 | £100 |
| FCA status | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised | FCA authorised |
| Structure | Debt | Debt | Debt, Equity | Debt, Equity |
| Secondary market | Yes | Yes | No | No |
| Founded | 2015 | 2013 | 2014 | 2014 |
| Geography | UK | UK | UK | UK |
Understanding private lending, direct loans, and debt investments. How non-bank lenders generate yield and how individual investors can access the asset class.
- What is the minimum investment on Unbolted?
- Unbolted's minimum investment is Not disclosed.
- Is Unbolted regulated by the FCA?
- Yes. The FCA Register lists it as: Directly authorised (FRN 741896).
- Does Unbolted offer a secondary market?
- Yes, Unbolted offers a secondary market for existing investors to sell holdings before maturity.