Commentary

    Revolut Puts Apollo and Ares in Front of Retail at €1What the launch means, and why UK customers are not in it

    Revolut is distributing feeder vehicles into Apollo, Ares, Hamilton Lane and Partners Group ELTIFs to retail customers in France and Spain from €1, with no additional platform fee. The UK is not in the launch. Here is what is actually being sold, the verified fund terms, why the UK gap exists, and what the liquidity constraints really imply.

    Portrait of Sarah MitchellSarah MitchellEconomist11 min28 July 2026

    Summary

    On 27 July 2026, Bloomberg reported that Revolut, the digital bank with roughly 75 million users globally, is opening its wealth management platform to private markets funds managed by Apollo Global Management, Ares Management, Hamilton Lane and Partners Group. Eligible retail customers in France and Spain can subscribe via Revolut-managed feeder vehicles from as little as €1, with no additional platform or transaction fee levied by Revolut. The bank instead receives standard distribution payments from the underlying share classes.

    Rolandas Juteika, Revolut's Head of Wealth and Trading, framed the rationale: "Private markets have long been the missing asset class in the average investor's portfolio, not for lack of interest, but for lack of access." He added: "This isn't just about offering lower entry points, it's about giving our users the tools to build sophisticated, diversified, and resilient portfolios for the long term."

    This is the largest neo-bank private markets shelf assembled to date and the first time four of the biggest alternative asset managers have appeared together in a mainstream retail app. It follows Trade Republic's partnerships with Apollo and EQT (covered in our neo-broker piece) and Robinhood's US retail private markets push.

    For UK retail investors, the important detail is what is missing. The launch covers France and Spain first and extends to further European markets over time. The UK is not in the launch, despite Revolut Trading Ltd (FCA Firm Reference Number 832790) securing a Variation of Permissions on 14 May 2026 to manage investments, deal as principal, and offer private wealth services. The capability now exists in the UK; the product rails do not.

    What Revolut Is Actually Distributing

    The €1 headline is the fractionalised retail-facing minimum. The underlying funds are institutional: the same semi-liquid, evergreen ELTIF 2.0 vehicles that Apollo, Ares, Hamilton Lane and Partners Group already sell to private banks and wealth managers. Revolut sits between the retail customer and the fund as a distributor operating feeder vehicles.

    Structurally, a Revolut customer subscribing to, say, an Apollo private markets strategy is not buying a direct share in the underlying evergreen fund. They are subscribing to a Revolut-managed feeder that in turn holds the fund's institutional share class. That is the mechanism that allows the €1 minimum and the removal of the traditional 2 to 5% front-end load.

    Revolut's fee model has no explicit client-side platform fee. Instead, Revolut receives "standard distribution payments linked to the relevant fund share classes", economics that look like traditional trailer fees embedded in the fund's ongoing charges. The customer is not paying Revolut directly, but they are paying Revolut indirectly through the fund's OCF. The precise retrocession percentage Revolut receives per share class is not disclosed. This is the same commercial pattern as retail bank distribution of mutual funds, dressed in neo-bank UX.

    The result is a genuine reduction in explicit friction (no €10,000 minimum, no advised channel, no upfront load) coupled with an implicit distribution economics layer that most retail subscribers will not see quoted separately.

    The table below sets out the verified terms of the four underlying ELTIF 2.0 funds. Revolut's feeder share classes may carry different terms; the figures are sourced from each fund's prospectus and key information document as published on manager and third-party databases.

    Fund ISIN Strategy Risk Holding Mgmt fee Lock-up Redemption
    Apollo Global Private Markets ELTIF LU3170240611 PE secondaries, co-invest 4/7 5 yrs 2.8% 9 months Quarterly
    Ares European Strategic Income ELTIF See prospectus Direct lending, senior secured n/a n/a 1.25% None Monthly
    Hamilton Lane Private Markets Access ELTIF LU3008566245 Diversified private markets 6/7 10 yrs 2.9% 12 months Quarterly
    Partners Group Private Equity Opportunities LU2716887091 PE direct, secondaries 4/7 5 yrs 2.6% to Sep 2026 Quarterly

    Two things stand out. First, the Hamilton Lane fund carries a 6 out of 7 risk rating and a 10-year recommended holding period, materially higher and longer than the Apollo and Partners Group vehicles (both 4/7, 5 years). Second, the Ares fund is the only one with monthly redemption frequency, but it also carries a redemption fee of up to 5% and a servicing fee of 0.75% on top of the 1.25% management fee. The headline €1 does not change any of these terms; it only changes the entry point.

    Who Is on the Shelf, and the Gating History

    The four managers Revolut has launched with are not interchangeable, and each has been through a gating or redemption-limit event in the last twelve months.

    • Apollo Global Management. The fund on the shelf is the Apollo Global Private Markets ELTIF (ISIN LU3170240611, A1 unhedged EUR share class), authorised by the CSSF on 5 August 2025 under ELTIF 2.0. The AIFM is Carne Global Fund Managers (Luxembourg) S.A. The strategy is private equity secondaries and co-investments, classified Article 6 under SFDR. Management fee 2.8%, performance fee 1.71% over a 5% hurdle. Apollo has imposed redemption limits on certain retail-accessible vehicles during the 2025-26 private credit redemption cycle, which we covered in the private credit redemption wave piece.
    • Ares Management. The fund is the Ares European Strategic Income ELTIF Fund (AESIF), a Luxembourg SICAV launched on 19 June 2025. It invests in privately originated senior secured loans to UK and European mid-market companies (circa €10m+ EBITDA), with a liquid sleeve in European high yield for diversification. Management fee 1.25%, performance fee 12.5% over a 5% annualised hurdle with 100% catch-up. The A-A retail share class has a €10,000 minimum, a monthly redemption gate of 2% of aggregate NAV per month and 5% per quarter, and a redemption fee of up to 5%. Ares has applied redemption caps on evergreen credit vehicles in the same cycle and is exploring a large secondaries sale tied to its flagship European direct lending fund.
    • Hamilton Lane. The fund is the Hamilton Lane Private Markets Access ELTIF Fund (ISIN LU3008566245, A-1 EUR share class), authorised on 3 February 2025. The AIFM is FundRock LIS S.A. Strategy is diversified private markets (buyout 40-70%, growth/VC 15-30%, infrastructure equity 10-30%, liquid assets 20%), focused on Western Europe and North America. Classified Article 8 under SFDR. Management fee 2.9%, performance fee 12.5%. Minimum investment €5,000, 12-month lock-up, 30-day notice period. Its retail evergreen products have not gated, but they carry the same contractual mechanics as those that have.
    • Partners Group. The fund is Partners Group Private Equity Opportunities (ISIN LU2716887091, PR-H-ACC EUR share class), authorised on 26 January 2024 under ELTIF 2.0. The AIFM is Partners Group (Luxembourg) S.A. Strategy is direct investments and secondary fund investments across Europe and North America, classified Article 8 under SFDR. Management fee 2.6%, performance fee 15% over a high-water-mark hurdle. The most recent case study: on 3 June 2026, Partners Group capped withdrawals from its $8.6bn flagship evergreen private equity SICAV after redemptions hit roughly 9.8% of NAV against a 5% quarterly cap. We covered that event in detail in our Partners Group gating piece. Note that the capped SICAV is a separate, larger vehicle from the ELTIF on Revolut's shelf, though both share the same manager and evergreen design pattern.

    Revolut has said it carried out extensive due diligence on each manager, assessing not only long-term performance but the manager's ability to handle liquidity and redemption pressure. That framing is a tacit acknowledgement of the gating history: the diligence question is not whether these funds will ever cap withdrawals (the prospectuses say they will), but whether the manager caps in an orderly, rules-based way when they do.

    Why UK Retail Is Not in the Launch (Yet)

    Revolut has the UK regulatory permissions to run this shelf. On 14 May 2026, the FCA granted Revolut Trading Ltd (Firm Reference Number 832790) a Variation of Permissions covering portfolio management, dealing as principal, and services for high-net-worth and professional clients. Victoria Laffey, head of operations at Revolut Trading Ltd, described the VoP as "the missing piece allowing us to unite investment, advisory and portfolio management under one roof". The bank has publicly signalled ambitions in managed portfolios and private wealth in the UK.

    The UK gap is therefore not about Revolut's authorisations. It is about product rails.

    The UK does not have a like-for-like ELTIF regime. The ELTIF vehicles Revolut is using to reach retail in France and Spain are Luxembourg-domiciled and passported into EU distribution under ELTIF 2.0 (EU Regulation 2023/606). Post-Brexit, ELTIFs are not available for direct retail marketing in the UK. The UK equivalent is the Long-Term Asset Fund (LTAF), a substantially different vehicle: UK-authorised, FCA-supervised, structurally onshore. We compared the two structures in the ELTIF vs LTAF comparison.

    LTAFs became ISA-eligible only from April 2026. As of mid-2026, Hargreaves Lansdown is the only major UK platform live with retail LTAFs in an ISA, offering the Schroders Capital Global Private Equity LTAF and the Schroders Capital Global Energy Infrastructure LTAF (see our LTAFs in your ISA piece and the complete LTAF list). The full retail LTAF distribution stack is still forming. A €1-minimum, no-load, execution-only shelf of Apollo and Ares LTAFs would sit at the aggressive end of that stack.

    Appropriateness and Consumer Duty create a distribution question. The FCA's Consumer Duty and the appropriateness framework for retail distribution of complex products require a distributor to justify the fit between the product and the retail cohort. A €1 minimum inside a neo-bank app, matched against a semi-liquid PE fund with contractual gates, is a live product-governance question in a UK Consumer Duty context. It is not impossible; it is a design choice regulators will scrutinise.

    The plausible UK path is not a direct copy of the French shelf. It is a Revolut-distributed feeder into UK-authorised LTAFs, likely from a smaller subset of the same managers, launched once the LTAF ISA channel has more depth and once Revolut's own advice and portfolio-management proposition has settled. That timeline is measured in quarters, not weeks.

    The Liquidity Question Retail Investors Keep Underweighting

    Every product on the Revolut shelf is semi-liquid, not liquid. That distinction survives every fintech UX simplification.

    Semi-liquid means the fund offers periodic redemption windows (typically monthly or quarterly) funded from a liquidity sleeve, incoming subscriptions and, if necessary, sales from the underlying portfolio. It does not mean the fund can meet unlimited redemptions on demand. Every prospectus in this category contains redemption caps and gating provisions that allow the manager to defer or scale back redemption requests when demand exceeds the cap.

    The terms vary by fund. The Ares AESIF gate is 2% of aggregate NAV per month and 5% per calendar quarter. The Partners Group flagship that capped in June 2026 had a 5% quarterly cap. The Apollo and Hamilton Lane ELTIFs carry comparable quarterly caps with notice periods of 30 days, plus lock-up periods of 9 and 12 months respectively. A €1 subscription does not remove any of these constraints.

    Revolut has been explicit that the funds are intended for investors "with long-term investment horizons who do not require immediate access to their capital". That is both a compliance statement and a summary of a genuine structural constraint.

    Three practical implications for a retail user considering the shelf:

    • NAV frequency matters. Reported returns are based on the fund's own NAV mark, which in semi-liquid PE and private credit is smoothed relative to the public-market repricing of comparable exposures. We covered that dynamic in the net IRR reality check. On the way up, this looks like reduced volatility. On the way down, it looks like being late to the news.
    • Gates apply pro-rata. When redemptions exceed the cap, existing holders do not get out proportionally faster by being early in the queue. Requests are scaled back to the cap and the balance rolls to the next window. A €1 minimum does not translate into €1 optionality on exit.
    • Redemption pressure is a portfolio problem, not a personal problem. If retail flows across Europe converge on the same evergreen vehicles and then reverse together, gating becomes structurally more likely regardless of any individual holder's behaviour. The Partners Group event is the case study.

    How This Fits the Broader Retailisation Wave

    Revolut's launch is not an isolated deal. It is a datapoint on a trend that the alternatives industry, the neo-broker channel and European regulators have been converging on for two years.

    On the distribution side, the pattern is now established: Trade Republic with Apollo and EQT; Scalable Capital with a BlackRock ELTIF; Robinhood in the US; and now Revolut with the widest manager panel to date. See our ELTIFs hit €34bn analysis for the flow picture behind these launches.

    On the product side, the industry is standardising on evergreen structures with quarterly redemption windows and contractual caps, the same design pattern that produced the Partners Group event. ELTIF 2.0 (EU Regulation 2023/606) removed the standalone suitability test in Europe and lowered the minimum investment to €10,000 for professional and eligible retail investors, with individual member states permitted to waive it further. UK LTAFs provide the parallel domestic vehicle. Both are being retro-fitted to fintech distribution rails they were not originally designed for.

    On the manager side, retailisation is a strategic priority. Institutional fundraising has slowed, and access to individual investor capital diversifies the LP base. Apollo, Ares, Hamilton Lane and Partners Group all publish retail AUM growth as a headline metric. Revolut giving them access to a 75-million-user distribution channel is a step-change in scale.

    The counter-pressure comes from supervisors. ESMA's January 2026 risk update flagged "structural vulnerabilities in semi-liquid products" being amplified by retail distribution. The Central Bank of Ireland has signalled tighter product-governance expectations. The FCA has published a stream of Consumer Duty material relevant to this exact distribution pattern.

    Retailisation is happening at commercial speed; the supervisory framework is being written in parallel.

    What to Watch Next

    Concrete markers for UK retail investors over the next two to four quarters.

    • Revolut UK product roadmap. Whether Revolut launches a UK managed-portfolio proposition with LTAF exposure, and how quickly it moves from the current France/Spain shelf to a UK equivalent.
    • LTAF platform depth. Whether a second and third major UK platform brings LTAFs into ISAs (currently only Hargreaves Lansdown). Retail Revolut shelves will follow platform breadth, not lead it.
    • Redemption behaviour on the launched funds. If the Apollo, Ares or Hamilton Lane vehicles on Revolut's shelf hit their redemption caps in the next twelve months, the retailisation debate hardens.
    • FCA Consumer Duty enforcement. The first supervisory action or Dear CEO letter specifically addressing neo-bank distribution of semi-liquid private markets funds would be the clearest signal of the UK regulatory posture.
    • Manager disclosure. Apollo, Ares, Hamilton Lane and Partners Group all report retail AUM growth in quarterly disclosures. Net flow turning negative across two or more of the four would mark this as a sector cycle, not a manager-specific event.

    Sources: Bloomberg, "Revolut to Offer Clients Apollo, Ares Funds for as Little as $1", 27 July 2026; Private Equity Wire, 28 July 2026; FStech, "Revolut wins FCA approval for expanded UK investment services", 14 May 2026. Fund terms verified against manager KIDs and prospectuses via eltif.info, myeltif.de and borgline.com.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Is this available to UK Revolut customers? No. The launch covers France and Spain first, with a phased extension to further European markets. UK retail customers are not in the launch. Revolut has the UK regulatory permissions (FCA Firm Reference Number 832790, Variation of Permissions granted 14 May 2026) but the UK does not have a like-for-like ELTIF regime and UK LTAF distribution rails are still forming.

    What is the real minimum investment? The customer-facing minimum is €1, achieved through Revolut-managed feeder vehicles that fractionalise institutional share classes of the underlying funds. The underlying ELTIF minimums range from €5 (Partners Group) to €10,000 (Ares AESIF A-A share class).

    What does Revolut earn? Revolut has said it charges no additional platform or transaction fee. It receives "standard distribution payments linked to the relevant fund share classes", trailer-style economics embedded in the fund's ongoing charges. The customer pays these indirectly through the fund's OCF, not as a separate line item. The precise retrocession percentage is not disclosed.

    Can I sell whenever I want? No. Every fund on the shelf is semi-liquid with periodic redemption windows and contractual redemption caps. The Ares fund gates at 2% of NAV per month and 5% per quarter; the others typically gate at 5% per quarter. Lock-up periods range from 9 months (Apollo) to 12 months (Hamilton Lane). When redemptions exceed the cap, the manager scales requests back pro-rata. Partners Group did exactly this on 3 June 2026 on a separate, non-Revolut fund.

    Is my money FSCS-protected inside the fund? Not in the way a bank deposit is. The FSCS protects eligible client-money and investment-service claims against authorised UK firms up to £85,000; it does not compensate investors for fund-level losses or gating. In this launch the funds are Luxembourg-domiciled and marketed to EU (not UK) retail, so the relevant investor protections are the local EU regimes and the fund's own structural safeguards, not FSCS.

    Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute financial advice. References to specific firms, platforms and funds (Revolut, Apollo, Ares, Hamilton Lane, Partners Group, Trade Republic, Scalable Capital, Robinhood) are descriptive, not endorsements. Semi-liquid private markets funds (including ELTIFs and LTAFs distributed via feeder vehicles) carry significant risks including illiquidity, gating of redemptions, NAV smoothing, capital loss and counterparty exposure. Fund terms (ISINs, fees, lock-up periods, redemption gates) are sourced from prospectuses and key information documents published as of July 2026 and may change; Revolut's feeder share classes may carry different terms. Past performance is not a guide to future returns. Availability of specific products varies by jurisdiction and is not guaranteed. Always read the relevant product documentation and consult a qualified financial adviser before investing.

    Weekly newsletter

    The UK alternative investment market, weekly.

    New listings, FCA status changes, and market moves — every week.

    By subscribing, you agree to receive the weekly Other. newsletter. Unsubscribe anytime. See our Privacy Policy.